Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Register

10/3/2014 » 10/7/2014
Update in Join Reconstruction Surgery

Medical Students
Share |

What are the benefits of a
student membership?



  • The MOA hosts a free luncheon during the year to introduce you to the MOA President.
  • Each year, the MOA offers a free student program during the MOA Annual Spring Scientific Convention with social networking at the student, intern, resident reception.
  • One of the most coveted and prestigous awards for students is the MOA Outstanding Graduating Senior Award, presented along with a monetary award to one student each year at commencement.
  • The MOA offers members many discounts, including health, dental and vision insurance, car rentals, vacations, cell phones, prescription drug cards, and many more. For a complete list, please visit the MOA Business Partners.

Advocates Communicates
The MOA continues your education through discounted Continuing Medical Education (CME) programs because your education does
not stop upon graduation from medical school.
The MOA advocates for osteopathic medical students and physicians for positive health care legislation at the Capitol in Lansing. Decisions made today will affect your practice tomorrow! The MOA communicates important information to members through UPDATE, our e-newsletter, our award-winning journal, TRIAD, and our website.

How do I get involved?

Kevin Leikert

Mr. Leikert is a graduate of Michigan State University, where he graduated with a Bachelor of Science in human physiology. He is currently in his second year as a medical student at the Michigan State College of Osteopathic Medicine. Kevin serves as Treasurer of the MSUCOM class of 2017, and as President of the MSUCOM Peer Mentor Organization. He is also a member of the Community Integrated Medicine (CIM) and is a substitute volunteer at Ele’s Place, which is a healing center for grieving children and teens. Kevin currently works as a blue coat teaching assistant at MSU’s Department of Radiology. He has earned many honors including: MSU’s Department of Physiology Academic Excellence Award, MSU Department of Physiology Departmental Service Award, Graduation with Highest Honors from the MSU Lyman Briggs College and has made MSU’s Dean’s List every semester.

Know the Issues

This has been a big year legislatively for physicians, and the Michigan Osteopathic Association has been in the thick of several key issues at the State Capitol. Here’s a run-down of what happened this year, why it happened and what it means for member physicians. Please visit Issues and Legislation to learn more.


MOA/MSUCOM's Class of 2017 Representatives

 Ryan Abboud Michael Doherty  Shannon Doud  Aslan Efendizade  Nathan Hamilton   April Korneli
DMC  MUC  East Lansing  MUC East Lansing  East Lansing 
Mike Kostiuk Alexander Orman Ryan Qasawa  Ryan Smith     
 MUC East Lansing  MUC  DMC     



  MOA/MSUCOM's Class of 2016 Representatives

 Christine Acho  Arafat Ali Jason Betcher Chelsea Cox Racha El-Ladki Linda Groen
 DMC  MUC  MUC  East Lansing  DMC  East Lansing
Ryan Malek  Lauren Pitters Louis Standiford Scott Stevens Andrew Whiteside Carleigh Zahn
 MUC  East Lansing  East Lansing  DMC  MUC

 East Lansing


Other MOA Student Liaison Committee Members

Angela Atherton, 2014 Rep
Cody Becksvoort, 2015 Rep
Matt Bottke
, 2015 Rep
Rebecca Busk
, 2014 Rep
Lucan Chatterley, 2015 Rep
Beth Courey, MSUCOM Faculty Advisor
Danielle Harik, 2014 Rep
Ryan Jones
, 2015 Rep
Gina Maki
, 2015 Rep
Rachel Punke
, 2015 Rep
Sarah Secor, 2014 Rep
Stephanie Stanley, 2015 Rep
Ashley Wilk, 2015 Rep
Jennifer Willner, 2014 Rep
Sarah Woiderski, 2014 Rep
Jesse Zrull, 2015 Rep

Jeffrey Postlewaite, D.O., MOA Trustee Department Chair
Jasper Yung, D.O., MOA Trustee Department Chair
William Falls, PHD, Chair
Terry Trombley, MOA Administrative Assistant